22 Nov 2017

After more than 40 years, we have the monumental Bruckner’s Fourth Symphony,  Romantic, in the Rijeka theatre! Anton Bruckner ((1824 – 1896), Austrian composer and organ player, started to write his Fourth Symphony in 1874, rewriting it at least seven times, even after its premiere in Vienna in 1881. That production was conducted by Hans Richter, a renowned conductor of that period, while the audience was so enthusiastic that after each movement they asked the composer to take a bow.

The conductor Yordan Kamdzhalov is coming back  to Rijeka, having captivated the Rijeka audience in the December of last year by the Wagner-Debussy-Beethoven concert. Bruckner’s symphonies are frequent in his concert programmes, while a critic of the specialised The Bruckner Journal magazine proclaimed Bruckner’s The Ninth under the baton of Kamdzhalov as the best ever, «I have now heard many performances of the finale, including that by Sir Simon Rattle and the Berlin Philharmonic, but at this point Kamdzhalov outshone them all”.

A. Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 “Romantic“ in E-flat major

I. Bewegt, nicht zu schnell
II. Andante quasi Allegretto
III. Scherzo. Bewegt; Trio. Nicht zu schnell. Keinesfalls schleppend
IV. Finale. Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell

Foto & Video galerija