Performed by:
Stage manager:

19. lipnja 2020.

The expressive conductor Alessandro Cadario conducts Beethoven’s Fifth Piano Concerto and Fifth Symphony!

In this concert, the esteemed Rijeka pianist and recipient of prestigious professional awards Goran Filipec will perform a concerto titled “Emperor” with the Rijeka Symphony Orchestra, a title which was later added by the publisher and not Beethoven. The composer dedicated the concerto to his patron, the Austrian archduke and cardinal Rudolf von Habsburg, the youngest son of Emperor Leopold II and the brother of Emperor Francis. After the first performance in 1811, the Allgemeine musikalische Zeitung announced: “Without a doubt, this is one of the most original, imaginative and influential, but also one of the most difficult concerts in existence.”

Beethoven’s energetic and multi-layered Fifth Symphony with its recognizable rhythm is divided into four exceptionally dramatic and occasionally dark movements, and is often called the “Symphony of Destiny.” Berlioz argued that this work, more than any other, stems directly and exclusively from Beethoven’s genius as his intimate thoughts, hidden sorrows, rage, dreams full of melancholy oppression, night visions, and storms of enthusiasm, while melodic, harmonic, rhythmic and orchestral forms are highlighted by original novelty and individuality and enriched with immense strength and nobility.



Ludwig van Beethoven: Concerto No. 5 for Piano and Orchestra in E-flat Major (“Emperor”), op. 73
I. Allegro
II. Adagio un poco mosso
III. Rondo: Allegro

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 5 in C-Minor, op. 67
I. Allegro con brio
II. Andante con moto
III. Scherzo, Allegro
IV. Finale: Allegro


Foto & Video galerija


General sponsor of the Rijeka Symphony Orchestra