Martin Krpan, 1st violin; Davor Philips, 2nd violin; Hrvoje Philips, viola; Martin Jordan, cello: Zagrebački kvartet

28 February 2022

The Zagreb Quartet, founded in 1919, was the first permanent and professional ensemble of its kind on the Croatian music scene. In the nine decades since, they have held more than 4000 concerts across every continent, made over 60 recordings for various world record and radio companies and won many foreign awards as well as all the most prestigious domestic awards. They will perform Mozart and Grieg’s string quartets for the Rijeka audience.

After long and painstaking research and work, Mozart composed six string quartets dedicated to his friend and mentor Haydn, who encouraged him to do so. Dissonance refers to the extraordinary harmonic boldness of the slow introductory bar. Grieg, by contrast, composed only one complete String Quartet, but it remained among the most original and influential string quartets of the 19th century, characterized by great musical diversity cyclically combined in a rare artistic unity.



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791): String Quartet No. 19 in C Major, K. 465 “Dissonance”
Adagio – Allegro
Andante cantabile
Allegro molto

Edvard Grieg (1843 – 1907): String Quartet No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 27
Un poco andante – Allegro molto ed agitato
Romance – Andantino
Intermezzo – Allegro molto marcato – Più vivo e scherzando
Finale – Lento – Presto al saltarello


The concert lasts approximately one hour and is performed without an intermission.

Foto & Video galerija