Performed by:

2. i 3. srpnja 2020.

Mozart’s Ninth Symphony, as charming as it is challenging, was composed when he was 12 years old, upon his return from one of his tours in Italy.

Antonín Dvořák, a Slavic Romantic and the greatest Czech composer alongside Smetana, arrived in New York in 1892, where he was impressed by the traditional tunes and melodies of African Americans and Native Americans, from which he created his own themes for the Ninth Symphony. Thus the work of a Czech composer became an American national symphony. The two ninth symphonies are conducted by Valentin Engel, winner of the Lovro von Matačić International Competition for Young Conductors, the Competition of All German Music Academies, and the Leipzig Radio Symphony Orchestra Conducting Competition, and who has conducted orchestras in the USA, Switzerland, Germany, Sweden, Romania, Bulgaria, North Macedonia, Serbia, and more.



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No.. 9 in C Major, KV 73/ 75a
I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Menuetto and Trio
IV. Molto allegro

Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 in E Minor “From the New World” op. 95
I. Adagio – Allegro molto
II. Largo
III. Scherzo, Molto vivace
IV. Allegro con fuoco


Foto & Video galerija
Foto & Video galerija



General sponsor of the Rijeka Symphony Orchestra