Riječki simfonijski orkestar

January 9 and 11, 2021

Lyrical, elegiac music from the overture of Zajc’s opera Mislav, with its equally fierce and fantastic moments, will take you into the world of the 6th century and open this evening of musical milestones. Mislav is part of the national-historical trilogy of operas alongside Ban Leget and Nikola Šubić Zrinjski, and of Zajc’s important legacy to Croatian music. Beethoven’s Violin Concerto is a turning point in his oeuvre and in the genre itself, which he raised to a whole new level. The virtuosic and mainly short pieces played to the astonishment of the crowd became a profound expression of high art, thus laying entirely new foundations for the works of other composers that followed. Shostakovich graduated as a composer with his First Symphony, which established his international breakthrough and marked the beginning of his world career. Famous conductors such as Bruno Walter and Arthur Toscanini conducted orchestras outside the Soviet Union that performed this vivid, tender, playful work that began the journey of one of the greatest composers of the 20th century.



Ivan pl. Zajc (1832-1914): Overture from the opera Mislav, op. 246 (1870)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827): Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D Major, op. 61 (1806)
Allegro ma non troppo
Rondo Allegro

* * *
Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975): Symphony No. 1 in F Minor, op. 10 (1925)


The concert lasts approximately two hours and is performed with one intermission.


Note: Concert programs will depend on measures to protect against the coronavirus epidemic, which determines the possible or permissible composition of the opera.


Foto & Video galerija


General sponsor of the Rijeka Symphony Orchestra