The Season’s Grand Finale

Manuel de Falla: La vida breve:
La Abuela: Sofija Cingula
Tio Salvaor: Slavko Sekulić
Carmela: Viven Galleta
Cantao: Robert Kolar
Voice from the foge: Martin Marić
Saleswoman 2: Tea Ban
Salesman: Boris Mohorić
Jean Sibelius: Kullervo:
mezzosopran: Ivana Srbljan
bariton: Robert Kolar

We are announcing another exceptional concert, the one for the season’s finale entitled South-North. The programme will feature two works, the Kullervo Symphony by Jean Sibelius (north) and the opera La Vida Breve or The Short Life by Manuel De Falla  (south).

The exciting musical journey starts from the boiling south of Europe, from Spain, with the concert-scenic performance of La Vida Breve. It is an opera in two acts by Manuel De Falla composed after a libretto of Carlos Fernández-Shaw. It is a story of a most beautiful young gypsy passionately in love with a young man engaged to a woman from a higher social class.

Anamarija Knego is in the tragic role of Salud, having thrilled the audience with her performance of Desdemona.

The second part of the concert takes us to the far north, to Finland, bringing the work of the most famous Finnish composer, Jean Sibelius. During his stay in Vienna, the young Sibelius started work on his first great symphony Kullervo, based on the Finnish national epic Kalevala, also referred to as a choral symphony. Once Sibelius had returned to his native Finland, the premiere of the symphony in 1983 was an enormous success.

Robert Kolar will sing the title tragic role of the Finnish hero, next to the mezzo-soprano Ivana Srbljan and the Opera men’s chorus and orchestra.

Foto & Video galerija

suomi-logoEmbassy of Finland logo